Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure (PS1 JRPG) – Retro Game Review



Today I’m reviewing a JRPG on the channel for the first time ever! This is a short and sweet musical adventure. But does the gameplay hold up? Rhapsody is the story of a young woman who can talk to puppets and her journey to rescue her Prince.

Rhapsody was played on a PS1 with a Framemeister and recorded on a Hauppauge HD PVR Rocket. All music comes from the game soundtrack.

#Rhapsody #JRPG #Musical

Intro artwork, logo and banner by: @theMagdalenRose

“Cantina Blues” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0

Nguồn: https://hargabaru.net/

Xem thêm bài viết khác: https://hargabaru.net/game/

33 Comments

  • Just recently bought a PS1 and was thinking about getting this game, until i saw the crazy prices for it.

    Mobile Gamer Dude
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • My mom has this. I tried it, a musical RPG sounded interesting, but I hated everything about it. I expected it to be a JRPG with rhythm mechanics in battle, rather than a TRPG with sing-along musical numbers.

    Erdrick The Hero
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • It might be late to comment, anyway it was a nice review and since you told me you like musicals I just have to recommend Hedwig and the Angry Inch in case you haven´t seen it. Great stuff 😀

    Patrik Axelsson
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • i quite dislike english dubbing over japanese original audio. it sound stacky in my own language and also in english. they shoul always stick to subtitling

    José Eduardo
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • You can sweep the entire game with Sharte and Cornet. The part with the Pirates is quite fun.
    My favorite monster was a white rabbit who was hard to level up but damn he was strong.

    Fernando Busciglio
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I liked all the things that you did about the game and disliked all the same. I played it on hard mode and it was still too easy… so much potential, though, if only they'd worked on the weaker elements more.

    Laura Williams
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • This is the first rpg I ever played lol! I just thought the cover was pretty 😂

    Sarah Farron
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • It goes for 80 bucks on Ebay. I bought a PS2 last Sunday. I mayyyy buy it.

    AndrewWolfPro
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I even loved the Soundtrack.
    This was a Fun game indeed, and i started collecting Atlus games during this time.
    This was before they started to developing more Adult Humored games.

    Kevyn Hansyn
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • After watching this review I told my small community about it. It is now on its way to my home! I’m beyond excited to play it! Thank you for spotlighting this title. 😁

    SirenSe7en
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Wow love this game wish i seen this video sooner! Great video!

    alan nielsen
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Seeing all these cute animations for attacks I can't help but think that this takes place in the same universe where one of the super attacks is cutting a planet in half to hit one guy.

    neolight67
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I wanna play this game! It’s on my wish list for titles I’m on the look out for to add to my swag shelf. I’m a sucker for musicals so this is either gonna be a home run …. ooooor an epic fail. Fingers crossed! 🤞🏼🤞🏼

    SirenSe7en
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I've had this game sitting around for a long time. Got it when I worked at EB games [now gamestop] for maybe…free or 2 dollars when the PS1 purge happened. Think I'll dust off my PS3 and try it.

    sfkingalpha
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Got directed to this review after watching your PS1 collection video.

    While this game is certainly not one of the great JRPGs for the system, It's definitely a very charming game which makes it good and memorable in its own right.

    efdee
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Hay that was the best groovy game

    warlock
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • The fact that you noted "sharte" in a funny way, let me know i was in good company. Im still giggling. SO bad….i know, i know.

    alec j
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I loved this game n.n

    Brian Estrada
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • The funny thing with this game is that while still not really challenging, it's slightly harder on the DS. I don't know if it's because it goes the more traditional turn-based route with its combat, but many of the enemies are more powerful and take much more hits to defeat, there are quite a few optional bosses that are surprisingly difficult, though they left out the Mountain Man song, which is disappointing. (I'm also mixed about the fact that they don't give you a language option. I like that they go with the Japanese voices, but it would have been nice if I could at least pick the English voices if I wanted to) Though yeah, like a few others have said, the fact that this is a musical is what got me interested in it, and it helps that the songs are really good. This is one of those rare games I can see working as either a feature film or a TV series for that reason alone. Now I really wish we could have gotten the other two installments. One of them has a musical number with the cat chef having his assistants poop soft ice cream into the cones.

    Although on a side note, I just realized something after reading some of these comments. Rhapsody is essentially the Princess Tutu of JRPGs. (I guess technically, it would be the other way around since Rhapsody came first, but still) Both are titles that people judge harshly off of their girly outward appearances only to wind up liking them after giving them a fair chance.

    slashermaster28
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Damn. I don't own a ps1.

    Normadic N
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I lost it at the "old maid" gag! 😂

    Marco Jacinto
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I ve got the same problem with xenosaga on ps2.

    The characters are cool, the graphics are nice, it's hardcore sf, the story seems really interesting buuuuut…… I dislike the combat and the development system. I think those rulesets are too artificials (for exemple: during combat you alternate between rounds with specific bonus, but why those bonus at those specific moment? it's completly artificial ), too stretched from reality.
    I like when rules in game try to explain/emphasis a point a view on the reality (the dev thinks combat is like that and makes some rules to transcript his point of view, more simply, tell me your combat system and i ll tell you who you are. The most obvious exemple for me would be ad&d and rolemaster, i like them both but they aprehend reality in two very different way 😉 )
    And in xenosaga, i don't see any point of view. Just a game. I understand what they did but i am unable to enjoy it, something is missing (for me). But, but, but… the game seems so good. I've tried twice to play it and stopped but i still plan to try it again, i'll just do what i do when i don't like a combat system: cheat to death so the part of the rules i don't like takes the less place as possible 😉 (did that for the witcher 1 for exemple, didn't like the combat, get all the medals, the combats were so trivial i didn't have to suffer and enjoyed the game as hell).

    Huummm, yop concerning a game which is too easy, guess i ll have to forbid me to use certain item, or perhaps limit the lvl progression of my party….or perhaps i will avoid the usually 50 hours of grinding i normaly do in game like that (yep, i won't cause each game, i try and each time, i fail to avoid grinding lol )

    domlesombre d
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • At first appearance, I thought it was garbage, Not surprised that it is actually a good game.

    Wolf'Jarl Gr'Bane
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • es uno de mi jrpgs favorios 😀 de ps1 The adventure puppet princess+1,Little Princess: Marl Ōkoku no Ningyō Hime 2+1 and Tenshi no Present: Marl Ōkoku Monogatari(PS2)

    EdgarPc
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • The singing and music is actually great, I love it. Game sucks though..

    Brain Scoop
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • I had no idea this game existed. Thanks for teaching me something new today! Great review!

    Hungry Goriya
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • bring back these kind of games . .. its all 3d now which doesnt give the same feeling as this. i like 3d games too but 2d games and pixel games have their own appeal

    ArtofDylan
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • My name is Shart (with an e). My best friends name is Poopybutt(without an e). Lol

    Rich K
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • This game was really awesome

    The Mixed Plate Frequency
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • 2:09 #fakelaugh

    dacealksne
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • Oh damn, it pronounced as shart, and me always says shar-te 😂😂😂

    darynne jerome belen
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • The music sort of reminds me of Lunar.

    Ddarke11
    Posted June 27, 2020
  • My favorite story about this game was recommending it to friends and first hearing "That's too girly and stupid, I don't want to play that."
    A week later they begrudgingly say I was correct

    Cutie And The BroFist
    Posted June 27, 2020

Leave a comment